Black History Month Biographies (on topic ideas thread)

Discussion in 'General Education' started by S Dubb, Jan 13, 2008.

1. S Dubb

S Dubb Comrade

Jan 13, 2008

I am a second grade teacher (first year) and I am trying to find short biography worksheets online of famous African Americans for my students to read about.

Does anyone happen to know of a free website that offers biographies on a variety of famous African Americans? Thank you so much in advance! :)

3. S Dubb

S Dubb Comrade

Jan 14, 2008

Anything? :blush:

4. annafish

annafish Companion

Jan 14, 2008

I found some on enchanted learning, but you have to pay to be a member.

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 14, 2008

6. S Dubb

S Dubb Comrade

Jan 14, 2008

These are good! Thanks so much. Any more? :dunno:

7. Youngteacher226

Youngteacher226 Enthusiast

Jan 19, 2008

Just curious....can I ask why you are looking for worksheets to teach your kids about African American history?? Is it possible for you to use more authentic ways to teach this important aspect of American history???? I mean, you could find great literature, real biographies about African Americans. You could have the kids research an African American of their choice and do a project on what they learned. You could invite African Americans in the community into the classroom and talk to the kids about their history. You could find authentic videos about the Civil Rights Movement, Martin L. King Jr. etc. Teach them about recent & relevent African Americans to their generation like Oprah Winfrey, Borak Obama (sp?), Maya Angelou, I could go on and on.
    Just a thought. :2cents:

8. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Jan 19, 2008

Ruby Bridges would be a great read aloud for 2nd grade

9. Youngteacher226

Jan 19, 2008

Great suggestion!

10. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Jan 19, 2008

11. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Jan 19, 2008

how about famous black WOMEN also

12. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jan 19, 2008