Big Pay Cut?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by CityESLTeacher, Jun 19, 2009.

1. CityESLTeacher

CityESLTeacher Rookie

Jun 19, 2009

I haven't posted in ages, but I need some perspective and this seems like a good place to get it. How much of a pay cut would you take for a job that you loved? I'll give my details later, but I'd love to hear other people's reactions.

3. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Jun 19, 2009

not much. But I have 6 kids and as a public school teacher I can't afford to go down much.

I live in an interesting place. I live close to metro Dallas area, but about 30 miles east. The town right beside me that I taught in pays about what other schools in DFW pay, but the town I live in pays significantly less and anything east of me pays even less.
    So for jobs I have to go toward Dallas.

So, although the school where I live and those east of me are generally more hospitable, I cannot teach in those schools.

Does that make any sense??? probably not.:(

4. txmomteacher2

txmomteacher2 Connoisseur

Jun 19, 2009

I personally could not take a pay cut becuase of my family. I have 4 kids to feed and cloth. But if I were single and on my own if you can afford to take the pay cut and you think that would like to teach at that school I say go for it. In this day and age when teaching jobs are so hard to get you would be silly not to take a job if you could live on what it pays.

5. frogger

frogger Devotee

Jun 19, 2009

I don't know how much lower of a pay I could go and live and I don't have any kids.

6. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jun 19, 2009

I have a family to support so I wouldn't take a drastic pay cut, but if I could still support my family then I would.

7. SCTeachInTX

SCTeachInTX Fanatic

Jun 19, 2009