Bible Distribution in Public Elementary School

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ESL_Teacher_CH, Feb 17, 2018.

1. ESL_Teacher_CH

ESL_Teacher_CH New Member

Feb 17, 2018

I am a substitute teacher at a public elementary school in Georgia. My son is also a student at this school. On Valentines Day, there were two men in the lobby passing out Bibles to 5th grade students. I was stunned. This is clearly unconstitutional and illegal. I don't imagine they would approve of my handing out the Qu'ran or Atheist/Humanist booklets.

I spoke to the secretary at the school and was told it had been going on for years. When she pushed back on it, she was told by the administration that "they always had done it and always would do it." I don't know what to do. I don't want to jeopardize my career or hurt my son by publicly fighting this practice. But I cannot stand by and do nothing. Frankly, I'm not sure I even want to work in a school that thinks this is okay. Any advice??

3. JimG

JimG Comrade

Feb 17, 2018

No it is not. The government cannot sponsor or forbid a religion. There is no law, as far as I know, that prohibits somebody not affiliated with the government to pass out religious doctrine on governmental property. Please direct me to the appropriate readings if I am incorrect (I’m being genuine, not trying to be a smart alec).

4. JimG

JimG Comrade

Feb 17, 2018

Do you actually have such books you wish to hand out? If so, have you asked them?

5. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Feb 17, 2018

you asked for advice. Here's mine. Read the Constitution before you attempt to quote it. Especially before you risk your job and your son's respect. And you make assumptions about Qu'ran distribution.

BioAngel likes this.
  6. ESL_Teacher_CH

ESL_Teacher_CH New Member

Feb 17, 2018

I am honestly surprised by these responses. Numerous court rulings have found this practice to be unconstitutional. I thought everyone would be as surprised as I was.