Best time to send out resumes over the summer?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by kmeteach, Jun 19, 2013.

1. kmeteach

kmeteach Companion

Jun 19, 2013

Hi everyone, haven't had the chance to post in awhile, but I need advice!

I currently work as a TA, but I'm still on the hunt for a teaching job. School ends this week for me. Would the best time to start sending out resumes/cover letters be as early as next week, or is it best to wait until later on in the summer? Does anyone have any advice or experience as to when the best time would be? I live in NY and so far I haven't heard of many jobs opening up just yet.

3. LMichele

LMichele Cohort

Jun 19, 2013

As soon as possible! Many times jobs will open up unexpectedly and they need to fill the spot ASAP. You want your resume on their hands already.

4. LMichele

LMichele Cohort

Jun 19, 2013

Just want to add...I mailed out my résumé to my current school when they had no openings posted. I did a mass mailing of resumes in August of last year, and they called me in January for a job that had opened up. You don't need to wait until a job is posted to mail them out.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 19, 2013

Now!!

6. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Jun 19, 2013

I started applying back in February- so the sooner, the better!

7. ECE ABC

ECE ABC Comrade

Jun 19, 2013

ASAP :D

8. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

Jun 19, 2013

Now! :)

9. MissD59

MissD59 Comrade

Jun 20, 2013

I know the typical answer is, "Now! Always!" but I've done two mass mailings the past few months (one in March, and one after the budget vote in May), and I'm curious about this as well.

As far as timing is concerned, I've always wondered as to when the best time to reach out to principals would be. Is the last week of the school year completely hectic? Or are they scrambling to find positions ASAP?