Best Time to Apply

Discussion in 'Job Hunting & Interviews' started by nasimi77, Nov 24, 2006.

1. nasimi77

nasimi77 Groupie

Nov 24, 2006

I currently teach in a private school. However, I'm hopeful to find a job in a better paying district next year. (public). I've already had a few friends suggest putting in applications now, but I think this is too early don't y'all?:confused: I got my credential in April of this year and applied like crazy, but it seemed to me the districts waited until the last minute to hire. I suppose this is a bit early ;) to even be bringing up this topic, but in the true spirit of being a teacher, I'm just thinking/planning ahead.:)

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Nov 24, 2006

Around here Jan/ Feb. is the average time.

4. nasimi77

nasimi77 Groupie

Nov 24, 2006

Wow, Jan/Feb....really!? That seems early, but I guess it can't hurt to apply then. Thanks MissFrizz. ;) This means I will have to ask for a letter of rec from my current principal, which is a bit awkward since she'll know I am going to continue looking for a job in public. However, I don't think it will come as too much of a shock.:cool:

5. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Nov 24, 2006

Or you could just be asking for a letter of reference to update your record keeping.... I don't think you shoud worry about it.

6. nasimi77

nasimi77 Groupie

Nov 24, 2006

Good point, thanks.

7. gr8_life

gr8_life Companion

Nov 24, 2006

Keep in mind that the applications are usually only kept for 6 months.

8. nasimi77

nasimi77 Groupie

Nov 24, 2006

True. However, there being a surplus of elementary ed teachers makes timing a bit more key.

9. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Nov 25, 2006

I'm in the same boat. We've got a week off in February (winter vacation) and I plan on asking for my letters of recommendation a few weeks before then so that I can hopefully get my resume packets together and mailed out during my time off.