Best reason to not go out to recess

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Backroads, Jan 23, 2015.

1. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Jan 23, 2015

So, I'm a teacher who believes in recess. I refrain from using recess as a punishment, I think kids need to get out there and do something.

But there seems to be a subculture of kiddos that try to avoid recess.

I've had excuses such as my clothes are new and my great-grandmother doesn't want me to go out.

Any good ones?

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Jan 23, 2015

Mine don't even try to make up excuses--"It's cold!" is what I usually hear.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jan 23, 2015

"I don't want to get my sneakers dirty!"

5. LisaLisa

LisaLisa Companion

Jan 24, 2015

"I'm sick."

6. ktdclark

ktdclark Comrade

Jan 25, 2015

can i just stay and help you?

7. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Jan 25, 2015

This is definitely the best reason! Granted, I make the kids go to recess at least one or two of the three times so they get some running around / social interaction, but if there's something that they could help with, I definitely don't turn them down!

8. 3Sons

3Sons Enthusiast

Jan 26, 2015

Um, you're in Canada -- that doesn't sound like a bad excuse to me!:D

9. Mamacita

Mamacita Aficionado

Jan 26, 2015