Best Places To Teach?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Corky333, Dec 21, 2008.

1. Corky333

Corky333 New Member

Dec 21, 2008

Hello all,

I am a SS/Technology teacher with 6 years experience in NY. I am in the process of finishing up my Master's this summer and am looking to relocate. The problem is I am not sure of where I would like to relocate to.

Any suggestions? I don't like extreme weather, I am very creative and would like to work in a district that looks highly upon creative/hands-on teaching. Also, I am concerned about salary. I am single and would need to be in a place with a decent compensation to cost of living ratio. I am looking for a nice place to live with really good school districts. Somewhere you enjoy being apart of their staff as well as the area. Any ideas about such a place?

Thanks.

3. scott connuck

scott connuck Rookie

Dec 24, 2008

TRY TUCSON!

Greetings fellow New Yorker!

Born and raised in Brooklyn, I left in the 1970's never to return to NYC (except for visiting relatives for a few weeks at a time, of course!)

At any rate, getting back to your question-- I have found the quality of life here in Tucson, Arizona VERY amenable. The weather is 5-10 degrees cooler than Phoenix, and, unlike its mamouth neighbor to the north, Tucson actually cools down at night. Also, Tucson has a great cost-of-living/earnings ratio-- your dollar goes VERY far as compared to other places. For example, I live in one of the only high-rise buildings--The Redondo Tower Apartments, on the top (9th) floor, with GORGEOUS views of the entire city from my hugh balcony, in a 2-bedroom, 2-bath apartment-- RENT/including gated parking??-- $850 per month!!!! Now, compare this to my brother's million-dollar Manhattan Condo, which faces a wall!