Best Masters degree for Elementary Teachers?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by NewTeacher2015, Mar 9, 2019.

1. NewTeacher2015

NewTeacher2015 Rookie

Mar 9, 2019

I am wanting to get my Masters, however I am unsure what the best route would be for me to take. I am currently a Special Education teacher in an elementary school. I teach Life Skills. I have a dual certificate in Elementary Education as well. My ultimate goal is to work in general education in an elementary school. General education elementary jobs are hard to find in my area. I am wondering what would be the best masters for me to get if this is my ultimate goal. Thank you for reading.

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Mar 9, 2019

I would go for an M.Ed in either Educational Leadership or Curriculum Design, depending on your interest.

4. teacherguy111

teacherguy111 Cohort

Mar 11, 2019

I got mine is educational technology. It also gave me an endorsement in teaching computers/technology. I think it's good to get one that gives you more options.

5. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Mar 11, 2019

I agree. A general education M.Ed. would just mean you could continue to teach. Get something that can open up lots of doors if you decide you want to go that route. When I started my masters I never thought I would want to be a principal. Now it's the best job I ever had!

6. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Mar 11, 2019