Best elementary grade to teach?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Teacherella, Apr 21, 2006.

1. Teacherella

Teacherella Habitué

Apr 21, 2006

Hi. I'm just starting a MAT elementary ed graduate program
    and have my first observation (out of two) this Fall. I'm
    pretty sure that we get to choose the grade level and school
    we want to observe in. I also will begin student teaching in
    Fall 2007 so I'm trying to figure out what grade to request.

I'm a substitute teacher now so I have an idea of what
    elementary grades I prefer, but I was hoping for advice from
    those who are elementary school teachers. I know for a fact
    that I prefer 2nd-5th grade...2nd grade being iffy.

What do you think? Pros and cons? Thanks!

3. Major

Major Connoisseur

Apr 21, 2006

I retired from the corporate world........ I just started substitue teaching. For me I prefer the 5th, then the 4th grade classes.

4. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Apr 21, 2006

Fourth grade is my favorite, but I really enjoy fifth as well. They're old enough to be very independent, but don't have the "adolescent attitudes" yet (for the most part!). They're still young enough where sticker charts and other reward systems can work well for behaviors, but old enough to understand sarcasm and joke with you. My favorite ages are pretty much 9-11 year olds.

5. 5thgraderocks

5thgraderocks Companion

Apr 22, 2006

5th Grade Rocks!! :)

6. jeanie

jeanie Companion

Apr 22, 2006

I enjoy second grade.... I loved third grade. But you deal a lot with tattling and that can be annoying. In second and third grade you do a lot to solidify what they know about reading. Maybe that's true for all grades?

7. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Apr 22, 2006