Bell Ringers: How do you grade?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by rae85, Aug 11, 2013.

1. rae85

rae85 Rookie

Aug 11, 2013

This is my first year of teaching, and I'll be teaching 7th grade social studies. I want to do Bell Ringers (mostly review of the previous day, some "fun" questions, like what they did over the weekend, and some questions that will lead into the next topic.) Bell ringers are quick questions that students answer in the beginning of class.

For those of you who do Bell Ringers, how do you go about grading them? (I have almost 160 students). What do you do if people are absent? Do you just "exempt" them from the assignment in the gradebook? My class is based on points and is not weighted. Will parents get mad if one kid has more total points at the end of the semester than another?

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Aug 11, 2013

I don't grade them.

4. rae85

rae85 Rookie

Aug 11, 2013

You don't have trouble with students not doing them then?

5. Jem

Jem Aficionado

Aug 11, 2013

I do 5 participation points/day.

6. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Aug 11, 2013

The ones that don't do them are the same ones that don't do it when a grade is involved.

7. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 11, 2013

I grade them as complete/incomplete. They turn in their bellringers on the last day of the week. I enter them in my gradebook as "Bellringers Week of 9/15 (or whatever)", usually for 25 points (5 points per day). My gradebook calculates everything as percentages anyway, so the point value isn't super important to me.

Most students write all their bellringers on one sheet or two stapled together. I scan each page to make sure that they understood the gist of the activity and did it more or less correctly. If they missed a day, I tell them to write "absent" for that day and I won't take off any points. If they just failed to complete a day's bellringer but were otherwise present in class, then they will lose some points.