being professional vs being honest

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by clynns, Aug 12, 2010.

1. clynns

clynns Companion

Aug 12, 2010

I really need some help. I'm a newer teacher and the hardest adjustment I've had to make as a teacher is not being able to say anything that's the truth that someone might be offended by. I've really worked on this and I think I've gotten better about it. However, last week someone I thought was confiding in me and asking me for suggestions for working with someone who tends to be very difficult for most people. I've worked with this "difficult" person and I was just telling my co teacher tips that I thought would help her. I didn't say anything that wasn't the truth and I truly thought I was only giving suggestions.
    One of my admin overheard us talking and thought I was bashing that person. She told me how unprofessional it was to have done what I did. I do feel that it was wrong for me to have said anything where someone else may have overheard instead of behind a closed door.