Being called to testify

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Jill420791, Aug 29, 2006.

1. Jill420791

Jill420791 Companion

Aug 29, 2006

Has anyone ever been called to testify in a child custody case? I was subopeaned today to go Friday which i am not happy about considering we only have been in school 4 weeks I dont know the child THAT WELL to say anything about who she would be better with, and i dont know the parents that well only to have seen them at back to school night and when they come to eat lunch with their child. ANy advice, i am a new teacher so i am clue less here thanks

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Aug 29, 2006

Then you have to state your honest observations that's all. Just the facts. That's all that can be expected.

Sorry you have to have such a rough beginning of the year.

4. mnteacherguy

mnteacherguy Companion

Aug 29, 2006

Tell them what your gut says. If you honestly do not know let the court know that. You are a professional teacher, not a professional social worker or psychologist. I'm sure the court will take into account MANY people's opinions

5. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Aug 29, 2006

Right, your testimony will be taken into account along with other testimony. A decision will not be based soley on your testimony. Which is why it is important to state what you have told us.

6. kimrandy1

kimrandy1 Enthusiast

Aug 29, 2006