Being a Teacher/Alternative Certification

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by futureteacher13, May 23, 2014.

1. futureteacher13

futureteacher13 Rookie

May 23, 2014

I have been a Teacher Assistant for nearly 5 years!

I want to become a teacher. My Bachelor of Arts degree is in a different area, which is Social Science with Education Concentration. Even though I'm a teacher assistant, I'm NOT naive to the realities of education. Even with the ever present changes, I still want to teach.

I want to be an elementary school or junior high school teacher for 6th grade. Even though I didn't go through the traditional education route, I feel I'm gaining valuable experience.

I work well with students, I love working with children, seeing them grow from one year to the next, and that's why I want to be a teacher!

In order for me to certify in Elementary Education, I have to take 2 additional education courses, pass the GK, SAE, and PEd, and teach for 1 year!

What's your take on teachers completing alternative routes to completing teacher certification?

My passion is to teach!

3. Missy

Missy Aficionado

May 24, 2014

I completed an alternative certification process, was hired in a tight job market, and have had a successful career. The principal who hired me commented that she thought my prior job experience and maturity (I wasn't 22), would be an asset.

4. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

May 24, 2014

As a general rule, I'm not a fan of alternate route teaching certificate programs, because they don't give would-be teachers actual time in the classroom.

However, you won't have that problem. If anything, you'll have spent more time in the classroom than most traditional route teachers... so go out there, get your certificate, and do great things :)

5. Luv2TeachInTX

Luv2TeachInTX Comrade

May 24, 2014