Behavior Plan suggestions please???

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by kmcole4, Jan 14, 2006.

1. kmcole4

kmcole4 Rookie

Jan 14, 2006

Hi All~

I am looking for some input on behaviors. I have 16 in my class and they have all been quite impulsive and blurty on the rug lately. This is my first year teaching--I have been an educational assistant for 6 years.
    I have one boy who is extremely fidgety--he clearly cannot control this. When on the rug or at tables, be it for five minutes or fifteen minutes, he is a 'skuch'. He touches everything--around him. The things on the wall, on the rug, on the table, and even doodles on the rug or table with his fingers. I have approached this in many different ways and since I feel he cannot control it I do not want to turn this into a negative--as far as disciplining him--I do not want to be harsh. I have moved seats at tables and on the rug, I have given him choices of where to sit, I have tried simple gestures to cue him, and I have tried visuals.
    He is a delightful little boy with a wonderful sense of humor and a personality that draws people to him. He loves school and his friends and everyone loves him. His academics are at grade level--for now, but I feel when he gets to first grade his distractibility is going to impact him in an extreme way. I worked in first grade last year as an aide and I am familiar with the expectations--I am looking for a behavior plan for him--one that is intrinsic not extrinsic--I don't want to do a reward system as far as chips or tokens that are earned for a prize or reward at home--I feel that singles him out and doesn't come from within.
    Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated. The parents have been kept in the loop--and I know it will be difficult for them-- he is the oldest of three---I just want to try something new before I go forward with the next step--Thanks for your time!

3. jsai

jsai New Member

Jan 14, 2006