Behavior management question

Discussion in 'General Education' started by AdamnJakesMommy, Aug 28, 2014.

1. AdamnJakesMommy

AdamnJakesMommy Habitué

Aug 28, 2014

So, I've got my rules, got my consequences. But how do you know if your rules are too strict? For example, I really really really hate talking. When I'm teaching it's zero tolerance. But I'm finding I am avoiding group work and partner work (which is unacceptable, I know) because I just like my room quiet. Now I'm thinking of cutting out the interactive notebook because they have a tendency to get chatty while they cut and paste.

I am trying to think back to when I was a student, and I know I chatted when I cut and pasted, so I assume chatty is normal during cut and paste, which is not when I am talking.

My students can and will work quietly for me, but they talk whenever there's an opportunity (such as cut and paste).

My question is: am I going overboard on the hatred of talking? Or is it normal and reasonable to expect silence during the entire class period?

I don't want to be so draconian that the kids are so used to the consequences and getting them all of the time, that they don't take the punishment system seriously---and that's when someone loses complete control of the classroom--when the kids do not take the consequences seriously.

I just feel like it's a fine line and it's one that I want to tread on the correct side of. I want my classroom to be a tight ship, with minimal disturbances and disruptions.

How do you ensure that that you aren't too draconian with your management plan? I feel like this year I'm being overly cautious of that given my new age group I am teaching, so at the same time I don't want to be to lenient either! Grrrrr!

My 4th graders were easy, my alternative class was very easy---that was a school-mandated behavior system. But a normal, middle school class. Not so sure about.

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Aug 28, 2014