Behavior Management- I'm in trouble.

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by onetwothreeteach, Dec 11, 2016.

1. onetwothreeteach

onetwothreeteach Rookie

Dec 11, 2016

Hi all,
    As you may have seen from my previous posts, I am a first year teacher. I was hired a week after graduating in May and was beyond excited to pursue my dream job in my dream district. However, things have not gone as planned.

I have had numerous behavior issues this year, despite having high expectations for my students, that we went over at the beginning of the school year. These behavior issues are something that I am consistently working at, as I know that the students' behaviors need to improve. Friday, I received an email from my P, who says that we need to meet tomorrow. In short, numerous parents have 'complained' this fall about my class. Stating things such as, 'there students are not learning what they need to learn' and that the class is 'chaos,' Which are all things that I would agree with. However, 95 percent of my students ARE doing what they need to be doing, it is the 5 percent who are not, that are 'ruining' my classes. This 5 percent are students who are having difficulties in other settings as well.

Because of this, not only do I need to meet with him tomorrow, but he has added additional work to my plate as well, such as video tapping my classes and writing a paper on each, as well as my expectations and how I am going to reteach each one.

Any advice for meeting with my P (the assistant P will be there as well)? I am beyond a nervous wreck and couldn't sleep all weekend. The minute someone tried talking to me, I busted out in tears.

Again: I don't think that it is all of the kiddos, but only one or two per class. This is really bumming me out.

3. geoteacher

geoteacher Devotee

Dec 11, 2016

Granted, I am not a first year teacher, but I probably wouldn't go into that meeting by myself. Do you have a mentor or a union rep who can attend with you?