Behavior Issues

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by hp123, Apr 6, 2007.

1. hp123

hp123 Comrade

Apr 6, 2007

What are some of the major behavioral issues that you see in middle/high schoolers?

3. alto1jr

alto1jr Rookie

Apr 6, 2007

They usually get up as soon as they are done with assignments and are constantly talking even when teachers are trying to begin or conduct lessons.

4. CmsTigerGuy

CmsTigerGuy Rookie

Apr 6, 2007

Well, for middle schoolers, there are a whole slew of issues. There are the passive misbehaviors that are not overtly disruptive, such as coming to class without required materials. I am an English teacher, and I can typically count on at least one student per class without pencil, paper, or both. Sometimes you run into one who won't even try to borrow--he'll be perfectly content to sit and do nothing until you notice, then offer his lack of pencil as an excuse for not doing the assignment. My students write every day, so there's no question about whether or not a pencil will be needed in class.

You can also expect to see a fair number of students who have little or no regard for the property of others, particularly if it is something that was issued to them by the school or loaned to them by a teacher. I have a pretty large supply of paperbacks that students can read during our enrichment period. I routinely catch them bending the covers back, folding over pages, and leaving them on the floor instead of returning them to the rack.

If you teach in a school that enforces a dress code, particularly if it involves shirts being tucked in and pants being worn at the waist, count on fighting that battle with about five to ten percent of your students on a daily basis.