Behavior Clip Chart

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by ll1301, Oct 25, 2013.

1. ll1301

ll1301 Rookie

Oct 25, 2013

I am a first year teacher in first grade. I use a clip chart for behavior. All the students start out on Green each day. They can move down to yellow, orange, and red. They can also move up to Purple, and Pink if their behavior is Outstanding. I have only had 3 students make it to pink in the 9 weeks we have been in school, and I make sure to make it a BIG deal when they move to pink. I also make sure they know they have to EARN it to get to pink. Anyway, I have a student who never gets her color changed for poor behavior, but she does talk during lessons sometimes. She always gets on green. I had a parent conference and I let her mom know that she is doing great in class, had good grades, and always does her work. Mom asked me why she never comes home on Pink, and why she always gets green if she's doing "so great" in class. I told her she does talk sometimes, and I have only moved a few students to pink all year. We left it at that, but now EVERYDAY at the end of the day when I am signing their folders for the color they earned, she always says "My mom really wants me to be on pink." It's a weird position to be in...because she is a very good student, she does her work, but it bothers me that she always says "My MOM wants me to get pink." How do I handle this? I almost feel like since her mom mentioned it in our conference that I feel I have to put her on Pink otherwise she will think I am being unfair. Advice?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Oct 25, 2013

Personally, this is one of the reasons I dislike clip charts. The visible, public nature of such system advertises to everyone of 'who is naughty and who is nice'. You should NOT put the kid on pink because mom wants it. The kid should earn it, but I'm not seeing a little talking as a big deal anyway.

4. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Oct 25, 2013