Behavior and Discipline

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by MusicMaker, Dec 11, 2006.

1. MusicMaker

MusicMaker Rookie

Dec 11, 2006

I'm a first year teacher and I'm very frustrated with my situation. I'm supposed to have a mentor, but I'm not being mentored at all. All feedback I've gotten has been very critical. I've never seen a group of adults talking about each other so negatively. I end up staying until 7 or 8 each night. I'm burnt out.

My biggest issue is that I feel as though I've totally lost the kids. Most of them don't listen to me. When I ask them to come to their spots on the carpet, half of them do it, then I have to prod incessantly to get the rest there. Then, I'll have maybe 14 listening, then the others keep talking, bothering each other.

I use a lot of positive things, sticker chart, tickets for prize box, etc. I use 1, 2, 3, magic for off task behavior. Warning, 1, 2, then 3 you have to sit away from the group and complete a behavior sheet (good choice / bad choice). That sheet is sent home and signed by the parents.

I don't know what else to do. :eek:

3. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Dec 11, 2006

I know how you feel. Last year was my first and I felt exactly how you are feeling right now. I think what you are doing sounds good! The question I would ask though is how consistent are you being with your discipline?
    I think that was the thing last year that really did me in for part of the year. I think that with consistency and immediate consequences for behaviors you want and don't want, things will get better.
    YOU can do it!!! I know it feels like it will never end, but the year will end and you will be able to start fresh next year. I know this year I feel much more confident in my classroom management. It is the most challenging and important piece of teaching, as you know.