Beginning of the year

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by singingstacy, Jul 21, 2008.

1. singingstacy

singingstacy Rookie

Jul 21, 2008

I am teaching Kindergarten this year, and it's my first year of teaching. I student-taught in Kindergarten, but it was at the very end of the year, so they were practically first graders. What should I expect of these little ones at the beginning? How can I prepare? What specific procedures will I have to model that I wouldn't in another grade? (Other than coming in the room, what to do when you're done with something, going to the bathroom, touring the school, etc). Any tips you can give me would be great! I am kinda nervous about this!

3. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Jul 21, 2008

Don't be nervous, but you will have to model EVERYTHING. Every year I forget because the kids do get into a routine by the end of the year and automatically know where to go. Have something out for them to do at the tables when they walk in the door. After everyone leaves, I go right into the rules. We literally walk out to the dismissal point and go over the expectations, fire drill (we always have one on the 1st day). Practice walking up and down the halls, then we come back and do a lesson, where those rules can be reinforced. It's challenging the first couple of weeks, but after that, you'll be amazed how responsible they can be. Before you go anywhere, review the expectations - lunch, ancillary, etc. You'll be fine!

4. lilygirl

lilygirl Rookie

Jul 21, 2008

Kevin knows the Rules

You will do great! Be excited! It is very important that you start off on the right foot as far as behavior expectations are concerned. There is a book available on amazon.com called "kevin knows the rules" that is perfect for introducing your class rules and helping to model and practice them with the class. It is a fun way to do something very necessary.
    Other than that, just be yourself and you will find your flow!
    Lilygirl

5. Lilly4