Beginning of the year gift - for teachers

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mrs100, Aug 16, 2009.

1. mrs100

mrs100 Comrade

Aug 16, 2009

I'm on a grade level team with three other teachers. Our relationship has been strained in the past and I really want to get this year off to a good and positive start. I was thinking of buying a little something for each of them, but am not sure what. Any ideas??? Little gift basket-type items, or something else?

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 16, 2009

Off the top of my head:
    - coffee gift card
    - fancy sticky notes and a nice pen
    - notepad or journal with their initials
    - invitation to join you for breakfast in your room before school one day--muffins, coffee and fruit
    - a coupon to cover a recess or bus duty for them
    - a jar of wrapped candy, jellybeans or chocolate to tuck away in their desk or cupboard for "those" days.

4. dunwool

dunwool Rookie

Aug 16, 2009

I am new at my school and I will be working with 4 other teachers closely. So as a "Welcome Back to School and I look forward to working with you" gift I got little felt baskets from Target and a few little things to put in them. I got a travel size package of Shout wipes, for those unexpected spills, mints, some chocolates, a little post-it pad, and some Crystal Light individual packets that you add to a glass of water. Little things can go a long way! Good luck!

5. Lynnnn725

Lynnnn725 Connoisseur

Aug 16, 2009

I like the breakfast idea. One year one of my teammates had put a little table cloth on a desk and put it out in the hall. She had doughnuts and kolaches (sp?) on the table with napkins and a jug of orange juice and cups. She typed up and printed a cute sign telling us to help ourselves and something about being glad we're on the same team.
    It was convenient - mornings can be a busy time!