Beginning of the year activities

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by primaryteach, Jul 31, 2011.

1. primaryteach

primaryteach Rookie

Jul 31, 2011

I am a brand new teacher (was hired and took over a first grade class in January 2011), so I've never taught the first three months of first grade. What type of activities can you suggest for the first few weeks of school?

3. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jul 31, 2011

read alouds
    establish, model and practice routines
    read alouds
    determine that everyone's names are spelled correctly (seriously)
    practice routines
    begin teaching guided reading & math activities, rotations, & routines
    tour the school
    tour the class (explicit explanations of areas and how they are used)
    all about me activities
    read alouds
    practice routines

I know I'm being repetitive, but you have to be in order to establish order in your classroom. Any time during the school year when your students do not follow your rules/routines/procedures, reteach, re-model, and have them practice until they get it right!

4. MMRbella

MMRbella Companion

Aug 1, 2011

Friendship Salad is a cute idea. Google it! :) I did it last year for the first time, and the kids loved it! Also- look for fruit shaped silly bands... I found them in Michael's last year and gave one to each child after the activity as a reminder of what we did.

This year I will be doing this activity again, and I plan to follow up with a language experience activity.

5. primaryteach

primaryteach Rookie

Aug 1, 2011

Thank you!

6. primaryteach

primaryteach Rookie

Aug 1, 2011

Thank you for the Friendship Salad idea! I goggled it and will definitely put it in the plans. :)

7. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Aug 3, 2011