Beginning and Ending Class Like a Pro

Discussion in 'General Education' started by adeeb, Jan 18, 2016.

1. adeeb

adeeb Rookie

Jan 18, 2016

I listened to a podcast today that discussed how the first four minutes and the last four minutes are the most valuable times of class. The teacher who was on the podcast explained that students will become occupied with something else if you don't capture their attention in the first four minutes. He also offered some activities and exercises you can use for those first few minutes. I found it insightful and thought I would share. My favorite part was when he stated that he stands outside his classroom before class and greets every single student that enters! You can check out the podcast at the following link; it's only 10 minutes long: Beginning and Ending Class Like a Pro

Do you agree?

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Jan 18, 2016

I can't listen to anything now, but as an elementary teacher, I absolutely agree that the first four minutes of a lesson are the most important. In most cases, it could even be narrowed down to the first minute. If you don't get them hooked onto whatever you're doing for that lesson, you're going to struggle like you-know-what to get them to care for the rest of the day.

Backroads likes this.
  4. lucybelle

lucybelle Connoisseur

Jan 18, 2016

I think even more important than the first 4/last 4 minutes is having a routine for the students. I always stand at my door and greet the kids as they come in. When they enter the room they know where to get their worksheets for the day, then to go to their seats, update their notebooks and start the warm-up which is always on the board. This never changes so they know exactly what to expect, and what I expect, every day.

5. adeeb

adeeb Rookie

Jan 18, 2016