Becoming a Teacher in California

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by mkoc3113, Mar 1, 2013.

1. mkoc3113

mkoc3113 New Member

Mar 1, 2013

Hi everyone. The thought of becoming a teacher has been on my mind a long time, but every time I've looked into it, I've managed to talk myself out of it. The layoffs here in California and also the difficulty getting hired make this dream rather scary.

I'm currently in my last semester of community college. I'm doing very well, and I think I'll have the opportunity to transfer to a school with a good teacher training program. A local university, UC Irvine, has a program that lets you finish your teaching credential and BA/BS in three years after transfer.

I'm really interested in this because it's been a dream of mine to work for the Irvine School District.

For my major I'm picking economics. First, because that's what I enjoy studying, and second because if I can't find a teaching job it would be easier to find a job with an economics degree. I would love to teach high school economics.

I would also love teaching foreign languages. I'm fully fluent in Korean; I'll also be fluent in Japanese in about a year.

What worries me most of all is the prospect of finding a job and keeping a job. I want to stay in Orange County or Southern California, and I definitely do not want to worry about getting laid off every year. I also want to teach at a school with an IB program and a lot of AP classes.

How difficult is it to get a job as an economics teacher? Any personal experiences?

What about as a foreign language teacher?

Is it possible to major in economics, get foreign language teaching credentials, and end up a foreign language teacher?

What can I do in the next few years to make success more probable?

Also, on a side note, if there are not any opportunities to become a teacher, I'd like to stay at the college I attend and try to become an administrator. What is the best way to take this route?