Balancing School, home life, stress management

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by woobie5, Nov 6, 2011.

1. woobie5

woobie5 Comrade

Nov 6, 2011

Wow! Is teaching the most stressful job or do I just suck at managing it? I'm only in my 4th year of teaching and am teaching a new grade level this year. I took a break from teaching after only my first year of teaching and worked in the corporate world for 6 years. I remember hating teaching after my 1st year so that's why I left. I attributed it to the fact that I didn't like my position, I had a 30 minute commute every day and I shared a classroom with another teacher. I eventually missed teaching and got back in 3 years ago, but am feeling that yucky stress again. The kind where I don't even like myself. I come home from work and I'm a grouchy old hag. Tired from dealing with management all day, not having enough time to plan etc, etc. Literally shot and still having to do lesson plans or run into my classroom to get something prepped.

I would love to find a way to "make it work" b/c deep down I love my job. I love working with kids, I love planning and teaching lessons etc. AND I OF COURSE LOVE MY SUMMERS! But the rate I"m going now I can't keep up. I have a wonderful husband and a beautiful son who need me more!

ANy tips? HELP!

3. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Nov 6, 2011

Sorry, no tips, but I can listen and vent right along with you. I, too, am in my 4th year and I just switched grade levels. Between my 2 jobs, all I do is work. I was at school for 11 hours today (on a Sunday!), and I didn't even get a chance to start report cards, which are due this week.