Bahavior Management - 5th Grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Lisa P, May 9, 2005.

1. Lisa P

Lisa P New Member

May 9, 2005

I am currently a First grade teacher and I have a great classroom management system that works for my young students. They react so well to positive reinforcement. I will be teaching Fifth grade next year and I know that I will have to adapt my classroom manamgement system. I woulod love some ideas from other 5th grade teachers. What works for your students?

3. thomps6

thomps6 Companion

May 9, 2005

The positive reinforcement works well for me. I have been teaching 5th grade for 3 years now. At the beginning of the year I divide the class into teams. The teams can earn beads/marbles for just doing good things. Each team has a jar. At the end of the week we count the beads and the team with the highest number wins a prize. Then we pour all of the beads into a fish bowl. When the bowl is filled we have a celebration. So if the students don't win for the week they are still contributing to a class goal. At the end of the year I have to start something new to keep them interested. I have blue pieces of paper that I call "blue tickets". It is based on the "Caught you being good!" system. At the end of the week I pull one out to win a little prize that I picked up at Wal-Mart. Sometimes I say that I will give out 5 blue tickets on the way to lunch. So all of them try to earn it. I hope this helps! Good luck!

4. CanadianTeacher

CanadianTeacher Groupie

May 9, 2005