bad observation

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teacherguy111, Dec 4, 2013.

1. teacherguy111

teacherguy111 Cohort

Dec 4, 2013

Just had my post conference earlier today. Although I didn't do badly I guess. I had quite a few things in the developing category. While I am only a second year teacher, and first year teacher in middle school.... I am kind of bummed about it. Just one of those days where my mind starts to wonder about alternative careers instead of teaching......

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Dec 4, 2013

What sorts of things do you need to work on?

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Dec 4, 2013

Don't let one observation deter you from continuing to teach if that is what you truly want to do. What were some areas you were 'developing' in? Maybe we can help.

5. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Dec 4, 2013

I think many of us have those days. But then you'll have a day where you can't imagine being part of a better career.

In which areas did they say you needed to "develop"?

6. teacherguy111

teacherguy111 Cohort

Dec 4, 2013

I don't have a copy yet, but mostly it was in lesson delivery. It just really bummed me out because I started off the day with some great plans for the future, then I met with the principal and it ruined the day lol.

It was things that I think I could fix, and I knew ways that I could improve the way that I taught the lesson etc. I am still learning etc and I know that I will not be anywhere near perfect....but still a little upset about it.

There is some days when I think I could do nothing else. Then there are days that I think I could do anything else instead of teaching haha.

7. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Dec 4, 2013

The bright side, and there is a bright side, is that you have time and room to improve so much that your end-of-year review will be fantastic!