Bad eval :(

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by scienceteach82, Dec 3, 2008.

1. scienceteach82

scienceteach82 Cohort

Dec 3, 2008

Today my department head came in to observe me. I thought it was the informal one...but it was the formal one for the semester. My powerpoint didn't work...kids were quiet, but didn't want to interact...she said I looked like I was not enjoying my job...and speaking in a monotone voice. I knew once the powerpoint didn't work I was in trouble. She said I should have made the best out of it anyway. This is my first year teaching this particular subject...so I have a tough time sometimes.
    She told me to view this as a starting off point to get better...and not get another bad eval.
    I almost started crying during the meeting...I am so upset. This was really an off day for me...none of my other classes are like that. I explained...and she understood somewhat...but...ugh!
    This is my first year at the school, and since it is private...teachers are under constant pressure to perform well so parents will want to spend the money to send the kids.
    I feel like such a screw up. We have another formal eval next semester by an administrator. I'm hoping things will get better before then.
    This was such a bad day anyway...with other things...and this just makes it worse. I feel like if they fired me tomorrow I would deserve it based on my class she saw today. :(

3. cmw

cmw Groupie

Dec 3, 2008