bad eval - tips for improving relationships with difficult students??

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by eireannashley, Dec 4, 2011.

1. eireannashley

eireannashley Rookie

Dec 4, 2011

I am a first year teacher, new to the state, the district, and the school. I had my first evaluation a 2 months ago and it went really well. I just had my second one and it was kind of a disaster. I used a lesson that my literacy and writing coach gave me and apparently my principal did not like it. My students did not understand it and therefore it took way longer than expected. I did not get to conference with students or do other things I was supposed to do in writers workshop. Overall, it was a mess. I think my principal is understanding with the fact that I am new and I never learned writers workshop or implemented it. That gives me a little hope.

However, after that she made some comments about how I obviously get along well and have good relationships with students who are academically where they should be and who behaviorally, have no problems. She thinks I struggle with the students who struggle in academics and who have behavior problems and that I do not have relationships with them. The weird thing is, I had one student moved into my class because a parent requested it. Then I had a student moved out of my class because a parent requested it. This student does absolutely nothing and because i would not let her get away with it, parents asked for her to be moved. Other than that, I really do not have students who have any behavior or academic difficulties. I am blessed with an amazing group of second graders. My principal made a comment about how she is not telling me to have children, but I will be a different teacher once I do so maybe that is the issue combined with my lack of experience.