Bad decision

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Newkindermom, May 21, 2015.

1. Newkindermom

Newkindermom Rookie

May 21, 2015

Hi all! I would love your feedback and advice...

I am finishing my first year as a kindergarten teacher previously I was an inclusion co-teacher (mainly supporting classroom teachers). I am seriously regretting my decision to move to classroom teacher. This was something I dreamt about doing since I can remember, but ended up doing sped because there was a job available and I needed a job at the time.
    I have had a very hard year in terms of classroom management and behavior. This is clearly not my strong suit. I am soft spoken and truly love teaching and children...meaning I am not even a little scary. I work in an urban school setting and it has been a struggle for me, to the point where I am thinking of seeking other employment or returning to sped. I feel that I am a great teacher for academics but can not get the behavior management down.
    My questions:
    How much a difference would switching to a suburban school district make (if I could find a position)?
    Should I just go back to sped??
    If I am stuck in this position again next year..
    What on earth can I do to improve myself for next year??? I have tried just about every management plan, I give consequences, I give rewards, I am firm and try to be consistent, I use a clip chart, I involve parents... The students are just not respectful towards me and I KNOW it's something about me that's triggering this.
    Any help is so appreciated.. I am literally at my wit's end and there is still another month of school! Thank you!

3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

May 21, 2015

A transfer to a suburban school might not make a difference, but it also just might. If you still consider this your dream, try to find the place that is the right fit.

Also, you very well could be the type that is meant to be the support.