Backing out from the first offer for a better second offer

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Pi2, Jul 20, 2019.

1. Pi2

Pi2 Rookie

Jul 20, 2019

Hello everyone,

I am a new teacher, fresh out of graduate school.

So the situation is a bit complicated. I am overwhelmed and my anxiety is not helping me better.

This is what happened. On Wednesday, I received a call from school A after the interview on the day before for a High School Math Teacher position. They did not hire me. He (my recruiter) told me that they really liked me, but I needed more experience, so they offered a position as a math co teacher for middle school with a salary of $18/hour, full time. I accepted right away because July was ending and I had depression of not being able to find a job. (Yes, I even took pills to calm my anxiety down).

However, on Thursday (the day after I accepted the offer with school A). Another school B called me and offered me a full time teaching position as a High School Math lead teacher and the salary is 52,000$ a year with 5000$ signing bonus for being a MATH teacher.

I am very happy to be given the second offer of having my own classroom. I know that I am going to decline the first job offer as a co-teacher at School A, but not sure how. I am wondering if any of you could give me any advise to decline the offer. Will it make me a bad person for declining an offer that they had thought for me to help me?

I have not signed any contract yet, it was a just a verbal acceptance over the phone. I am just scared that the principals and the other interviewers will talk about my situation and made me look really bad in the future.

Thank you so much!

3. futuremathsprof

futuremathsprof Aficionado

Jul 20, 2019

I would state to school A: