Back to Subbing

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ima Teacher, Oct 30, 2022.

1. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Virtuoso

Oct 30, 2022

I started my career in education back in 1993 as a sub for high school and middle school, and after almost 30 years with the district, I’m back at it again.

Back then I subbed every day and went wherever they needed me to go. Now I only work a few days a month and for only people & places I know. I’ll have to say it’s much better when I can show up, teach, and walk out with no responsibilities to follow me home. The kids are well-behaved overall, and when they aren’t my stink eye still works. I get to see my teacher friends, and I still like interacting with the kids.

I’ve told people that I’m just subbing to pad my concert and travel fund.

3. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Nov 17, 2022

Have fun! I graduated from HS in 1993. Yes, there's that non-responsibility aspect about subbing that's just great. I used to do it for a good 11 or 13 yrs...been so long ago, I forgot for sure because I taught special ed briefly and went back to it.

blazer likes this.
  4. North Fork

North Fork Rookie

Jul 9, 2023

Glad you decided to still sub teach. Less stress but still feel a part of the school.

5. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Virtuoso

Jul 15, 2023

I ended up resigning at the end of the school year. I subbed in December, and there were three 6th graders who were TERRIBLE in the cafeteria. I ended up taking all three to the office, and one told me I could have his phone if I thought I was big enough to take it from him.

That’s when I realized that I did not have to sub, and I was done with middle school attitudes.

blazer likes this.
  6. North Fork

North Fork Rookie

Jul 15, 2023

Sorry to hear that. But it is good you do not have to sub. It's only a choice.

7. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Virtuoso

Jul 15, 2023

I retired in 2021, so my pension is my income. I’m glad I don’t need to sub because I like retirement a lot.

blazer likes this.