Back to school - When do you start into your curriculum?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by woobie5, Jul 23, 2009.

1. woobie5

woobie5 Comrade

Jul 23, 2009

I'm a K teacher and curious to know how soon you start into your curriculum? Or how long you spend on procedures etc.

3. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Jul 23, 2009

My kids are a few grades older so we start our curriculum on day 1. The procedures and routines are taught as part of the lesson then practiced as they come up daily. We've just found that it's better for classroom management to begin with as regular a schedule as possible right away. Again, I'm a few grades ahead of K so it probably makes a difference. Mine already know the basics of school.

4. Lionteacher

Lionteacher Companion

Jul 23, 2009

I teach Fifth Grade and our first Day is a full day so we will gently be starting our stuff the first day but more of an intro of what we will be covering. The second day I will start the year. Keep in my mind though that my kids have been together since kindergarten.

5. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Jul 24, 2009

I typically begin academics the second day, though I am in full force by the third or fourth day. The whole first week itself is basically an introduction of what we will be learning, though, with some small cooperative learning activities.

For kindergarten, I'd say day 3-5 sounds reasonable.

6. love_reading

love_reading Comrade

Jul 24, 2009

I teach first grade and I start on day 1 with math and phonics. We have Everyday Math so the first lesson is really just calendar math. Day 2 I bring in the other subjects: handwriting, reading, writing, etc. Of course, for reading and writing workshops the beginning lessons are procedural. I would say by week 2 we are ready for actual writing and reading lessons.

7. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Jul 24, 2009