Autistic Child with an Aide

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by alisoncharm, Aug 7, 2006.

1. alisoncharm

alisoncharm Rookie

Aug 7, 2006

Hi, I was just informed that I will have an autistic child in my am and pm kindergarten classes. Each will be with an aide the entire class that is also supposed to help me in anyway that I may need.

I am a new teacher so here are my questions. I am meeting with the two families (separately) and I would like to know what kind of questions I could ask that could help me to understand the child's needs.

Secondly, I am nervous about having an aide in my room that I am supposed to work with. Not that the help will not be amazing, but how do the children react to having two adults in the classroom at the same time, and how do they distinguish between the different roles we will lead? I am a great team player, but I guess my fear is that I will not know how to ask an aide to help me...I am just so used to doing things on my own. Any advice on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

3. Julie

Julie Rookie

Aug 7, 2006

For your first question, what to ask the parents, ask if they went to preschool and how that experience was. Ask how they get along with other children and what their hopes are for this school year.

For your second question, I had a full time aid in my K class and when I had an autistic child he had his own aid when he was there. When I was doing introductions on the first day I introduced myself as the teacher and my assistant as an assistant. I told the kids that if I can't help them with something then the assistant could and sometimes she may teach them something if i had to be out of the room or read them a story, etc. As for your autisitc aid, I told the kids that she was there to help ------ but if they needed help and she was available then she could help them. She mainly helped the kids sitting at his table, especially with social skills.

hope this helps a little

4. JaimeMarie