Autism: Plz help me understand

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Bored of Ed, Nov 22, 2007.

1. Bored of Ed

Bored of Ed Enthusiast

Nov 22, 2007

To preface, I have no background in Autism besides a little overview about the disorder in a couple of undergrad classes. LD is more my department.

So I have a student whose diagnosis is on the spectrum. He's 11 years old (I think; might be 12 now). I assume he's considered pretty high-functioning, because he does talk and even initiates communication (with adults; I haven't seen it happen with peers).

I have no idea how to work with him to extend his skills and behavior. As of now, I treat him basically like all the other kids, which doesn't do much for him.

To give you some point of reference, here are some things I'd like to work on:
    > Getting started. He takes forever and a zillion reminders/redirections to get on task. Staying on task is another problem.
    > Spacing in. I know a spacey look is part of autism, but is there something I can do at those times to pull him back into my class?
    > Interacting with other kids. Is this beyond my range? I don't know how severe the disorder is. In any type of social situation, he just stands there and doesn't pay any attention to others.
    > Calming down. I didn't see this much until this week: Sometimes something will trigger him into a hyper giggling fit and I can't figure out how to stop it. I think it scares the other kids (not to mention me!)

There are other things, too, but this is the overview.
    Communication could also use work, of course. It usually takes a few tries for me to get what he's saying.

Any advice, links, etc. would be greatly appreciated!
    The catch is, I don't have time and energy at this point to read any long books or implement any whole system overhauls in my class. I do have other kids to deal with, and they're just starting to get into the groove...

3. inhisgrip20

inhisgrip20 Comrade

Nov 22, 2007