Australian teacher

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by lajoers3, Dec 10, 2006.

1. lajoers3

lajoers3 Comrade

Dec 10, 2006

Hello everyone, my name is Amanda and i'm a primary school teacher living (and teaching) in Sydney, Australia. I'm not quite sure if I should be posting here or on the elementary board since our schools are structured a bit differently. Elementary schools seem to be fairly equivalent to primary school in Australia except that primary school in Australia is from Kindergarten to Year 6. Secondary school goes from year 7 - 12 and although some private schools refer to the years between year 5/6-8 as being 'middle school' it's not generally thought of as such.
    Anyway, I just got myself a job as a year 6 teacher, starting next school year (which is starting at the end of January). I've been teaching casually as a relief teacher for the past 5years and i'm really excited. I mainly want some ideas on what to do to excite a bunch of 11/12year olds about numeracy and literacy. What sorts of things do you do that's really fun and that makes the kids want to come back for more.

3. ozteach

ozteach Comrade

Dec 10, 2006

Hi Amanda,

I'm from Sydney and have my first permanent primary position next year too, after years of casualling. I don't know which grade yet, find out tomorrow. I'm a high school English teacher but have just retrained. I'm excited about next year, confident that the teaching part will be okay but worried about the nuts and bolts of setting up and getting started. Anyway, congratulations on your job and let's stay in touch!

4. lajoers3

lajoers3 Comrade

Dec 10, 2006

Congrats on your job too. This is not my first permanent job - I actually was working before I had my children (and for a little while after my first daughter was born). But that was quite a few years back and I was teaching infants classes at the time. Teaching year 6 on a full time basis is definitely a new thing to me.

5. Upsadaisy