ATTN: Baltimore Teachers!!!--(I also posted in secondary forum)

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Mrs.SLF, Aug 11, 2005.

1. Mrs.SLF

Mrs.SLF Comrade

Aug 11, 2005

ATTN: Baltimore Teachers!!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello all who may read this,
    I was wondering if anyone on here worked in the Baltimore City school district and could tell me anything about working there. I am very anxious to either begin graduate education or get into an alternatove preperation program to become a teacher. My school does not have a secondary education program at the undergraduate level so I majored in political science (which I love) in hopes of furthering my education. I have been really looking into the Balitmore program that recruits non-education majors to teach in their schools and I was wondering if it was worth my time. I am very aprehensive about applying to the program because I don't know if I can deal with another let down (I applied to Teach For America last year and didn't get in because I did not attend an Ivy!) and if I should just go into graduate school instead. I would really love if anyone who teaches in Baltimore to give me any type of advice or information about the system and what I could possibly expect! Thanks in advance!

Steph

3. Riley313

Riley313 New Member

Aug 17, 2005

I've taught in Balt. City for 10 years. It has its problems just like other districts. It also depends upon where you teach. I have known several teachers that have come into the system as non-educaton majors and had to give 5 years after the completion of the certification program. Some of them are still in the program and love it. Others have quit deciding that teaching is not for them.(not sure if it was the city or the teaching itself.)
    Any more specific information you would like to know?

4. Mrs.SLF

Mrs.SLF Comrade

Aug 18, 2005

Riley313,