Attitude towards substitute teachers....

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ktmiller222, Nov 13, 2014.

1. ktmiller222

ktmiller222 Cohort

Nov 13, 2014

Ok, well I'm not going to try to come off as someone trying to talk bad about teachers because I was a teacher for a few years in another state. I KNOW what teachers go through each day and the the stress! Sorry for the long post!

So I started to sub this school year after quitting my job of 4 years to focus on getting back into teaching in one of the hardest states (PA).

I'm in a few good school districts right now as a day-to-day substitute. One of the districts is the #1 in my county. I thought I would like this one the most because of how glorious it is....well that changed quickly. I've only met maybe 2 nice people in this district. They welcomed me with open arms and had nice discussions with me. The other teachers have been nothing but snobby. The principals don't even care about anything when I go and introduce myself to them. They (teachers and principals) don't say hi in the hallway, the act like I'm ruining their day when I need to ask them a question, if there is recess/playground duty all of the teachers group together and don't bother talking to me, etc...I find it very immature and very disappointing knowing it's the top school. To be honest, I cancelled a job last week because I did not feel like being treated as I'm a nothing. I have already accepted a few jobs in December in this district ( I accepted them before I hated this district)and I already want to cancel them. BTW, their sub plans are horrible!

The other two districts, people have been nice and welcoming for the most part. There are some teachers and principals that don't seem too interested in knowing who I am (not even my first name...) but hey I can't expect everyone to be nice!