Attention Getters for Older Kids

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by paperheart, Jul 27, 2007.

1. paperheart

paperheart Groupie

Jul 27, 2007

I am tired of using my old ways of getting attention. I don't think my last method (counting from 5 to 1) was particularly effective anyways. The other methods I used were, but were better off for my elementary kids.

What's your method to get attention after the students have been working on their own for awhile and you need to say something?

3. Lyquidphyre

Lyquidphyre Comrade

Jul 27, 2007

I have no experience with this, but my plan going into high school teaching (that I saw while subbing) is actually similar to counting from 5 to 1... I'm going to let them know at the beginning of the year, when I need their attention my signal will be "Give me 5!" and put my hand in the air and start counting backwards- "Give me 5...4..." when they see this, they either put their hand up, sit quietly or get others around them quiet and if I hit 1, because they haven't quieted down, they have to sit and wait 30secs after the bell to leave.

But I'm interested in what others do.. because like I said, I haven't tried that out yet, but it was my plan

4. weno88

weno88 Companion

Jul 27, 2007

I like the "Give me 5" thing, too. I have a college professor who still uses it, and it works well. :)

5. paperheart

paperheart Groupie

Jul 27, 2007

I might just need them to have a specific response to it. I had my elementary kids do a hands up sort of thing and it worked like a charm. I may just add that back to what I was doing. Thanks for your input.

6. clogalbo

clogalbo New Member

Jul 27, 2007

I have used the counting with middle school students never high school students. I believe that it would work fine because it gives them a cue to be silent. I have also used clapping techniques that have worked very well. Where I clap a particular pattern and they have to repeat me pattern of claps.

7. ayotte04