Attention-getters for middle schoolers?

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by bison, Jul 28, 2012.

1. bison

bison Habitué

Jul 28, 2012

I'll be teaching junior high/middle school aged kids (along with some younger ones) in a fun setting for the next few weeks. I've never worked with this age group before, so I'm not sure what comes across as too babyish for them. Any ideas for what to do when you need to get the attention of a busy/loud room? It's in the nature of the setting that the kids will be doing things noisily and independently and I'll need to round them up. I feel like the old "if you can hear me clap once" or rhythmic clap routines might be too young. Thoughts? Ideas?

Thanks! :)

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Jul 28, 2012

In that situation, the Class/ yes signal from Whole Brain Teaching worked wonderful!! I used it in the long run, but also used it as a sub, took 2 minutes to teach and caught on great.
    I haven't used it in high school, where I was, it would not have worked, but for your age group, I think it will be great.

4. bison

bison Habitué

Jul 28, 2012

Good idea! Since it's an actual procedure, I'll have to run it by the rest of my team, but I'm sure they'll go for it.

5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Jul 28, 2012

I learned about it when I was student teaching middle school. A lot of teachers used it, but not all. The good thing about it is that it will work, even if you're the only one who uses it.

6. Croissant

Croissant Comrade

Jul 28, 2012