Attendance question

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by John Lee, Jun 20, 2016.

1. John Lee

John Lee Groupie

Jun 20, 2016

As a teacher, my job is to report attendance everyday into the automated system (along with the day's lunch count). Beyond that, I don't have any input in terms of excused or unexcused absences. So I have a parent who is disputing an absence I input, as Unexcused ("truant"). The student was in fact absent. I don't think she is disputing the absence; I think she is disputing whether the absence was excused or not. I guess my question is: What is the definition of an Excused absence vs. an Unexcused absence? In trying to figure it out myself, I went into my class' attendance statistics, and I had plenty of students with Unexcused absences.

Can anyone tell me the difference?

3. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Jun 20, 2016

Do you have to mark kids as excused or unexcused? We just mark them absent and the office sets excused or unexcused.

As far as I know, any type of note or phone call gets it marked excused at my school.

Pashtun likes this.
  4. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jun 21, 2016

Bump this up to admin. You can't fix what you have no control over.

At my school, all absences are unexcused until a note or other documentation is taken to the office.

Pashtun, Caesar753 and TnKinder like this.
  5. TnKinder

TnKinder Companion

Jun 21, 2016

This is how it is at my school. When a note is brought in, I send it to the secretary, and she makes the changes from unexcussed to excused. There are only certain things that are excused, like a doctor's note or a death in the family. We can only take 5 hand written "please excuse" notes over the course of the year. Things like transportation issues, missed the bus, car won't start, and vacations are all unexcussed.

6. bros

bros Phenom

Jun 21, 2016

Have admin deal with it. The office should mark people has excused or unexcused

7. mckbearcat48

mckbearcat48 Cohort