At wits end...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by substitute_stev, Sep 19, 2022.

1. substitute_stev

substitute_stev Rookie

Sep 19, 2022

I was a full time teacher in Florida for 3 years until I was laid off. No jobs, so I left.
    I moved to Ohio and have been a sub for 9 years. Ohio's teaching requirements to be a full time teacher is ridiculously strict and expensive. The ony way to be a teacher here is to plop down 25k and go to Ashland University. Teaching salaries dont justify the high price tag at my age of 55. Ive tried the alternative route - waste of time and money.
    Now im being offered a building substitute position. Ive done that 3 times already. Argh. Im at wits end.
    I enjoy teaching but ready to throw in the towel. If I cant be a full time teacher whats the point?
    I have a bachelors degree in social science, have a Florida license that wont transfer, I am expected to get another Bchelors degree in education plus license.
    Any ideas? Tired of being just a sub.

3. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Maven

Sep 20, 2022

I hate to say it but that sounds about right. You have to expect to have the required education and licenses to teach in certain states. Did you not research this before you moved to Ohio?

4. substitute_stev

substitute_stev Rookie

Sep 21, 2022

No. It was a last minute issue. I did research requirements in Illinois though this year. There is a shortage for teachers there and I can take an alternative program there. However, if I move to Illinois it will probably be all wrong information. You cant trust anyones word or the internet. Plus the educational rules change all the time.

5. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Sep 21, 2022