At what point in a long term sub do you become elegible for health benefits?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by Cinderfella, Mar 22, 2015.

1. Cinderfella

Cinderfella Rookie

Mar 22, 2015

I am a substitute teacher/substitute clerical person. I did a 2 month long term sub teacher position last fall and then I was asked to do a long term sub for our Learning Commons Coordinator (Librarian) starting the beginning of January. Unfortunately, the lady that I am subbing for is now not going to be able to come back until maybe January 2016 because of a medical issue.

When I sub as a teacher I am paid from a third party but as clerical I am employed by school district. Everything so far has been on a two week time frame and they are putting me in Aesop two weeks at a time. My husband thinks that after 90 days I will be considered full time employee.

Does anyone have any experience with this situation?

Interesting fact.....I make much more money per hour as a clerical sub than I make as a substitute

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Mar 22, 2015

I think it depends on the district. Long terms subs in most districts near make more money after a certain amount of days, but they don't get benefits.

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Mar 22, 2015

This is going to vary tremendously by district. I did an entire semester, and that was still considered subbing with no benefits. However, I was hired for the following year, at which point I was eligible for benefits. My go to answer in this case is to simply call HR and seek clarification. They are the most qualified to give you the answers you seek.

5. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Mar 22, 2015

Call the HR department, but I'd be surprised if you were eligible for benefits. Hopefully, you're in a one in a million district that values all employees.

6. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Mar 23, 2015