at what point do you say they are not ready?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by maggie123, Oct 12, 2010.

1. maggie123

maggie123 Rookie

Oct 12, 2010

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher in a private elementary school. I have a child that is 4 1/2 (so he is chronologically ready for pre-k) He is struggling with behavior. He seems immature compared to the other children. The mom is working with me to correct the behavior (which she says never happens at home, he is well behaved) I have tried many different approaches with him. He is also behind the rest of the group in many of his skills, but not all.

At what point do you tell a parent their child might not be ready for pre-k, that they might want to give it another year? :( How much time do you give it before you cross that bridge? I have never had to address the issue before, and I'm not even sure how to say it in a way so they won't be offended... :unsure:

3. SamIAm

SamIAm Companion

Oct 12, 2010

I'm not sure that I would tell a parent that their child isn't ready for pre-k. It's not something that I would assess readiness for beyond the basics: age, mental and physical health etc. The whole point of pre-k is prepare them for kindergarten. If at the end of the year, the child does not have the skills necessary to move on, that's different. A lot of schools do a kindergarten readiness assessment which makes it easier for the teacher to talk to the parent since the test is objective.

If you have concerns about the child developmentally, you may want to speak to your principle and determine what steps you should take toward referring the child to early intervention.

Now, if you feel that the child is a safety risk to the other children, you have a right to expel him from your class, but to say he isn't ready for pre-k doesn't really make much sense to me.

4. tracykaliski

tracykaliski Connoisseur

Oct 13, 2010