at the end of my rope...

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by nyteacher85, Sep 4, 2011.

1. nyteacher85

nyteacher85 Companion

Sep 4, 2011

i really don't know what to do anymore. this has been my 4th year searching for a job and i'm still looking. i've been working in the same district since i graduated. i worked as a teacher assistant for 2 years and all last year i did leave replacements. i have a great reputation in the district but they simply don't have any positions available. this year i'm subbing until another leave replacement opens up. i don't have health benefits and i pay a lot of money in loans that i can't afford. all of my friends have great jobs and are living on their own while i live at home since i can't get a job. i'm getting older and i'm getting nervous that i will never find something. i don't know if this is the point where i should move on or keep waiting it out and hope that next year is my year. it's so depressing and i just need to vent :(

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 4, 2011

You know, of course, that the job situation in NY has ALWAYS been bad, regardless of what else is happening with the economy.

You really need, if possible, to do two things:
    - Broaden your search to other parts of the country.
    - Hit every single public private and charter school within an hour's drive.

In addition, you need to have a killer cover letter-- one that BEGS the reader to call you in so he can meet you.

Realize that tomorrow is Labor Day, and school starts Tuesday or Wednesday. So it may be a bit late in the season for a full court press. But bring up the topic again in March. In the meantime, work on that cover letter and resume, so they're ready to go on March 1st. And make as many contacts as you can-- make sure everyone you know, from the UPS guy to the waitress at the diner-- knows you're looking for a teaching job.

4. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Sep 4, 2011