assignment notebooks in first grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by AuburnTeach, Mar 12, 2006.

1. AuburnTeach

AuburnTeach Companion

Mar 12, 2006

I'm a first grade teacher, and our principal approached me about having my students use assignment notebooks. She already has one picked out, and it is not developmentally appropriate for first grade. It's "busy", the writing lines are tiny, and other than reading every night and some math practice, first graders don't have many assignments.

I've also explained to her that I communicate with parents about homework in a different manner that works well, that I do many other forms of authentic writing, and that it would take valuable time teaching children to copy off the board into their assignment notebooks.

When I expressed these thoughts, the principal told me that some kindergarten classrooms use assignment notebooks and that it would be quick and easy for first graders.

I'd appreciate feedback about how others feel about first graders using assignment notebooks. I'd also like to hear from kindergarten or first grade teachers who use assignment notebooks, and how the notebooks are organized, etc.

3. 1stferg

1stferg Comrade

Mar 12, 2006

I use assignment notebooks in my first grade. This is the first year I used them. Mostly I let the parents write the books titles they read each night. Sometimes I write things in them. Sometimes it is and extra worry so it becomes a pain. I still have mixed feelings about using it.

4. NCP

NCP Comrade

Mar 12, 2006

We use them in second grade. Our are really cool, I don't know who makes them, but they are perfect for second graders. I don't assign homework every night, so on no homework nights I use them to have the kids write a sentence about something new they learned today, something fun that happened, etc. The parents really like this because they have something to talk about with their child at the end of the day.

5. herins

herins Companion