Asked to teach Life Skills instead of Resource, feeling pressured: HELP!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by MotherGoose, May 8, 2012.

1. MotherGoose

MotherGoose Rookie

May 8, 2012

This is my first year at a high school teaching Resource English. My principal asked me yesterday if I would be interested in teaching Life Skills next year. Rumor has it that the woman who teaches it now REALLY wants out and has threatened to leave if they don't move her. I think she wants my current position, which is Resource English.

My question is.... am I OBLIGATED to say YES??

In our "conversation" he said he knew I was a "team player". I told him I would seriously consider it and go "check it out" and talk to the current teacher. Well, I did and decided I didn't want it--- I was also warned by another Sped Life Skills teacher (there are 4 total) that it is the worst position with the worst amount of paperwork. I also think it would be way too depressing.

Anyways... when I told my P at the end of the day yesterday that I didn't want it, he told me to go home and "pray about it"....

ugghhh!!!! So now I am really feeling pressured. Do I stand my ground and say "No"???

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 8, 2012

There are people that are great teaching in a Life Skills class. I am not one of those people. If my principal came to me and asked me to do it, I would have to say no and continue to say no until he got the point that I would not move. Does this teacher have senority? That would be the only way in my district that she would be able to move classrooms.

4. greendream

greendream Cohort

May 8, 2012

Out of curiosity, what is "life skills" and what makes it so bad?

5. wonderingwhat2d

wonderingwhat2d Rookie

May 8, 2012

Life skills is teaching kids with tough disabilities like brain trauma, mental retardation, etc. You are teaching them more to live and how to live than academic skills.