Asked to be grade level chair...Advice?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by america82099, Jul 29, 2011.

1. america82099

america82099 Rookie

Jul 29, 2011

We just found out who our principal is going to be so yesterday I emailed her to ask about when we could get back into our classrooms (we all had to turn in our keys because they were going to install a new security system). In one of her replies, she asked me if I would be interested in being the grade level chair. I am only a second year teacher, but our grade level is made up mostly of new teachers. One, possibly two, teachers with lots of experience, four will be second year teachers, and one other with four years.

Last year the veteran teacher was our chair, but did not like the responsibility, and was very vocal about it. Our grade level was always uninformed, and late with everything. By the end of the year she had just given up and we all had to pick up the slack. It was a tough year of our 8 original teachers only half ended the year, due to resignations, firing, and retirement.

Half of me is excited about the opportunity, because I seem to thrive in leadership positions, but another half is hesitant. I wouldn't want to alienate any of the other teachers. Would it make you uncomfortable?

3. jenglish97

jenglish97 Devotee

Jul 29, 2011

I was asked to be grade chair the second year I was teaching in my district. I asked how could I be since I was an inclusion teacher. My principal said as long as you are teaching the grade level you can be grade chair. I went for it and became one. There were 6 other teachers on my grade level whom taught a lot longer than I did and did not want to do it. So I decided to do it. I have to say it was a lot easier for me to do it since I like things done ahead of time.

So, I would go for it. If you do not like it at the end of the year, do not apply for it again. Give it a shot! :)

4. SCTeachInTX

SCTeachInTX Fanatic

Jul 29, 2011