arts education project

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by jamie_a, Sep 20, 2006.

1. jamie_a

jamie_a Rookie

Sep 20, 2006

I'm a pre-service teacher looking for some help with an Arts Ed project. The focus is one, great resource. It needs to be something you think every teacher of the arts (visual art/dance/music) should have. Ideally it should be something that you can use in all Arts Ed strands. One example we were given was leaves (art using leaves, music instruments/sound of leaves). I was leaning toward pine cones or maybe milk cartons as both seem to have a million uses. My question to you is: Are there any resources you use regularly in your class? Is there one resource you could never live without?

3. PurpleTweety

PurpleTweety Companion

Sep 21, 2006

I don't teach art or music, but here's my two cents anyway. My grade 1 colleague uses beans/dried peas/lentils/rice every year. They make shakers in music class. In May or June she does a "nature" picture, where they draw the outline (ie a flower) and then "colour" it by gluing on the different seeds/beans etc. that she provides. Not sure how you could use these items for dance though!

4. Tommytune45

Tommytune45 Rookie

Sep 21, 2006