Are you focusing on anything in particular this year?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Pisces_Fish, Aug 19, 2013.

1. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Aug 19, 2013

When I was a new teacher my mentor told me to pick one thing each year and really "master" it. I have taken her advice each year.

This year my focus is on math, specifically kids talking about math. I really want to get my kids to talk about Math, explain their solutions, explore new solutions to problems and persevere in solving them without the use of algorithms*. I hope to be more of a facilitator in my classroom as opposed to a modeler.

I'm in the process of a year-long PD class/research study (funded by the National Science Foundation) and I learned so many new ideas this summer I hope will help me.

*There's a big push in my district and in CC to move away from algorithms. I still am on the fence about this, I welcome a discussion on algorithms...

3. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Aug 19, 2013

I understand the need to have multiple ways of solving problems, etc., but in 5th grade CC math states students will do several math concepts by using the standard algorithm. My district has had lies of discussion about what exactly an algorithm is vs the traditional recording system. Personally, as long as they understand what they did and get the right answer, I don't care what they did.

This year I am focusing on organization. I am tired of all the little piles of stuff that build up in my room.

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 19, 2013

I'm in a new position this year so really I just want to focus on surviving! :lol: Since this is my first year in this position, I want to focus on building good relationships with the principals and teachers I'll be working with.

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 19, 2013

Common Core math- :rolleyes:

6. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 19, 2013